I had the curious experience recently in a Bible study with a friend where I was confronted with John 4:23-24 and told that there is a “true” or proper way to worship God. (John 4:23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.) The curious aspect was that I used to use that scripture to convince others to worship in a way I considered biblical, what I considered proper and true acts/forms of worship.

In that conversation, my mind went to the conversation Jesus had with Pilate.

“You are a king, then!” said Pilate.
Jesus answered, “You are right in saying I am a king. In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.”
“What is truth?” Pilate asked.

I think Pilate’s question should have been “Who is truth?”

I also think (of course) of John 14:6-7, Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

So I am starting to consider that Jesus may be the “truth” in the  passage “true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth” rather than “truth” being certain times, acts, and terminology.

When you consider Romans 12:1 (offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship), worshiping in truth (Jesus, as Jesus did) makes a lot of sense since Jesus was a living sacrifice even before he was a dying sacrifice).

