Ps 37:25 I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread.

This text was raised in house church last Sun PM. I said that I didn’t believe that this passage holds for Christians today. I believe that the Psalmist wrote in the context/expectation of a person with a physical well-being contract with God (i.e. and Israelite under the old law). 

Dt 6:3 speaks to this health-and-wealth arrangement between God and Israel

be careful to obey so that it may go well with you and that you may increase greatly in a land flowing with milk and honey

Christians are told

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed. 

 (1 Pet 4:12ff)

The ONE righteous human ever to live did experience forsakeness. “”My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Mt 27:46.

